AUTUMN FRENCH COURSE! NEW REFRESHER/INTERMEDIATE COURSE STARTING OCTOBER

Get your French back up to scratch this autumn with our new Intermediate French course. Places are strictly limited, so book yours now!

If however you would prefer a lesson a little later in the afternoon, there are still spaces left on our other Intermediate course taking place at 5:00pm every Friday.

VACANCES DE NOËL

Please note that there will not be any lesson on Friday 29th December.

Our Intermediate French classes are for you if most of the following apply:

  • you can introduce yourself to, and have a basic conversation with, a French-speaker.
  • you are familiar with the three key verbs (avoirêtre and aller) in the present tense.
  • you have some familiarity (even if this is minimal) with how to form basic past and future tenses.
  • you're happy translating basic vocabulary such as treenephewto watch and bicycle.

...but might struggle with some or all of the following:

  • distinguishing between the imperfect and the passé composé when talking about events in the past.
  • using direct and indirect object pronouns: I like themshe's talking to him...etc.
  • using more advanced (but nevertheless common) vocabulary such as réseaulumièredémarrer and réussir.

You will, towards the end of the intermediate course, be able to start putting reasonably sophisticated sentences together. So we will devote the last two sessions of the course to improving your conversational skills, including:

  • expressing your opinion, and your likes and dislikes;
  • useful words and phrases to avoid awkward silences and "buy yourself a bit of time" while you're thinking of the rest of your sentence.
Check out the Small group lessons FAQ and the criteria for the Beginners Plus and Advanced classes to help you decide.

Need more advice? Don't hesitate to give me a call on the number below.

Lesson Title Lesson Date PAYG price (or £100 for block of 10 lessons) Capacity Register
Intermediate #1: the present tense (1 of 2) Fri 20th Oct 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #2: the present tense (2 of 2) Fri 27th Oct 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #3: Mais non! How to make negative sentences Fri 3rd Nov 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #4: revision of avoir, être and aller Fri 10th Nov 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #5: using avoir and être to talk about events in the past (1 of 2) Fri 17th Nov 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #6: using avoir and être to talk about events in the past (2 of 2) Fri 24th Nov 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #7: Listening comprehension - santé (health) Fri 1st Dec 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #8: using aller to talk about future events Fri 8th Dec 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #9: the simple future tense Fri 15th Dec 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #10: the other past tense - the imperfect Fri 22nd Dec 2017 12:00 pm £12.00 6
Intermediate #11: the passé composé vs the imperfect. Which one should I use? Fri 5th Jan 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
Intermediate #12: Listening comprehension - politique (politics) Fri 12th Jan 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
Intermediate #13: object pronouns (1 of 3) Fri 19th Jan 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
Intermediate #14: object pronouns (2 of 3) Fri 26th Jan 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
Intermediate #15: object pronouns (3 of 3) Fri 2nd Feb 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
Intermediate #16: mots de liaison Fri 9th Feb 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
Intermediate #17: une chanson française Fri 16th Feb 2018 12:00 pm £13.00 6
TOP